Staying Current: Home

 Read by QxMD

• Free Mobile App and email notification options - Locates up-to-date research and reviews from PubMed (Medline) and links to full-text articles.

• Northern Health Staff may use Read to notify them of new content, and then get full text by contacting the NH Library. 

  library@northernhealth.ca

  250-565-2152

The databases used in Northern Health library allow you to subscribe to automated alerts for: 

• Journals indexed in the database
• Searches you have created  -- allowing you to be alerted when new items meet your search criteria

Ebscohost Database Platform

Includes Medline, CINAHL, PyscInfo/PsycArticles, and Biomedical Reference Step by Step Written Instructions can be found within the HELP menu while you are searching within any of the databases in Ebsco. The videos below offer step by step instructions for:  Setting up a journal alert for indexed journal content in Ebsco Setting up a saved search alert

OvidSP Database Platform

Includes the Cochrane Library and Medline databases Includes over 360 full text journals that allow auto alerts for new content under the Journals Tab in Ovid.  Step by step instructions can be found with the HELP menu while you are working within the Ovid database.  The videos below offer instructions for: Setting up a Journal Alert in the LWW Total Access Collection on Ovid Setting up a saved search alert using MyAccount

Options for journal alerts: 

• Create alerts right at the journal website, eg. NJEM.org
• Directly through larger journals platform, like SAGE or Science Direct. 

Alert services:

• Emails an alert with titles and abstracts when new content is available.
• Minimal information to subscribe (usually email address & password).

Full text access options:

• Content may be open access, included in the NH library subscription, or requires an interlibrary loan.

What to look for to subscribe at journal sites: 

Look for links on the main page to create an account/profile, or subscribe options like this: 

OR

OR