Subject Guides: Mental Health &amp; Substance Use: Articles &amp; Databases

Articles & Databases

Not all of the articles below are full-text. You are welcome to request articles from the library (may take 2-3 days).

Client commitment language during motivational interviewing predicts drug use outcomes.
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology. 2003. Full-Text.
Mechanisms of change in motivational interviewing: A review and preliminary evaluation of the evidence.
Addiction. 2009. Full-Text.
Which Individual Therapist Behaviors Elicit Client Change Talk and Sustain Talk in Motivational Interviewing?
Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment. 2015. Full-Text.
Mechanisms of change in MI relation to health behaviour outcomes: A systematic review.
Patient Education and Counseling. 2015. REQUEST article from the Library.
Within-provider variability in Motivational Interviewing integrity for three years after MI training: Does time heal?
Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment. 2016. Full-Text.
Change talk during brief motivational interviewing with young adults: strength matters.
Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment. 2016. Full-Text.
Motivational Interviewing.
Annual Review of Clinical Psychology. 2005. REQUEST article from the library.
The relationship between counselors’ technical skills, clients’ in-session verbal responses, and outcome in smoking cessation treatment
Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment. 2017. Full-Text.
A Meta-Analysis of Motivational Interviewing: Twenty-Five Years of Empirical Studies.
Research on Social Work Practice. 2010. REQUEST article from the library.
Training in Motivational Interviewing: A Systematic Review.
Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment. 2009. Full-Text.
The technical hypothesis of motivational interviewing: A meta-analysis of MI’s key causal model.
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology. 2014. Full-Text.
Rediscovering fire: small interventions, large effects.
Psychology of Addictive Behaviors. 2000. Full-Text
Motivational Interviewing and the clinical science of Carl Rogers.
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology. 2017. Full-Text.
Ten Things that Motivational Interviewing is Not.
Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapy, 2009. REQUEST article from library.
Towards a Theory of Motivational Interviewing
American psychologist. 2009. Full-Text.
Is Low Therapist Empathy Toxic? Psychology of Addictive Behaviors.
Journal of the Society of Psychologists in Addictive Behaviors. 2013. Full-Text.
Client Language as a Mediator of Motivational Interviewing Efficacy: Where Is the Evidence?
Alcoholism: Clinical and Experimental Research. 2007. Full-Text.
Empathic: An Unappreciated Way of Being.
The Counseling Psychologist. 1975. Full-Text.
Sustaining motivational interviewing: a meta-analysis of training studies.
Addiction. 2014. Full-Text.

Chapter 3 - Motivational Interviewing as a Counseling Style
2019. Book chapter from "Enhancing Motivation For Change in Substance Use Disorder Treatment." by Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (US).
Tapering opioids using motivational interviewing (2018)
Canadian Family Physician
Setting limits with controlled substances - the role of motivational interviewing to increase comfort (2022)
JAMA
An introduction to motivational interviewing (2022)
Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
Motivational Interviewing - Book Chapter (2014)
Chapter 7 in "Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse: A How-To Guide for Evidence-Based Practice.
Mechanisms of motivational interviewing: a conceptual framework to guide practice and research (2020)
Prevention Science

Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is a database of citations and abstracts indexed from more than 5600 biomedical and life science journals
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexes psychological literature from the 1800's to the present covering more than 2200 titles (produced by American Psychological Association (APA).)
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Includes APA and Canadian Psychological Association journals.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from journals covering nursing, allied health, consumer health, patient education and contains over 1400 full text journals. It also includes evidence based care sheets, CEU quick lessons and image searching.
Pubmed Linkout This link opens in a new window
The freely accessible National Library of Medicine database includes MEDLINE citations plus additional content. The Linkout feature provides a Northern Health Library specific icon when viewing abstracts, clicking it will either take you to the full text (If we have it!) or present you with the option to request articles of interest via Interlibrary loan.

Substance Use Disorders - Motivational Interviewing (UpToDate Topic)
Link directs you to this topic on the UpToDate website.

Mental Health & Substance Use: Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases

Request an Interlibrary Loan

Suggest a Purchase