Library Services Information: Articles & Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary Loans

  Articles & Books

If you can't find a particular book or article in the NH library collection, library staff can borrow books and full text articles from other libraries on your behalf. Please note:

• It can take up to 10 days to receive a book from another institution. Shipping delays are out of the library's control.
• Some lenders do not allow renewals (eg. 3 week loan period total).
• If your book is unavailable from other lenders, staff will consider purchasing it for the library's collection or we will help you find a similar title.

Request an Interlibrary Loan

  ILL Tips

• Timelines: ILLs are processed Monday-Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm. Average turnaround time for articles is 24-48 hours, however, some can take much longer. Shipping times for books vary and may be subject to delays. Please plan ahead for requests. 
• Urgent Patient Care: Clinical material needed to counsel patients for an immediate and urgent concern can be rushed in the lending system, typically with a 24 hour turnaround time, pending library staff availability.
• Costs: The library covers the costs associated with borrowing items on your behalf. You can assist us with this by being intentional with selections. Please review the titles and abstracts for currency, quality (eg. systematic reviews) and publication relevance.

  Copyright Guidance

The library supports the development of Northern Health's Copyright Policy. Consult this policy for an overview of Fair Dealing, how to manage article sharing, using images, and obtaining permissions for copyrighted works. Library staff are not subject matter experts in copyright matters but we can provide basic guidance and help you locate relevant information.

  Suggestions for Purchase

The library strives to provide a wide variety of high quality print and digital resources that will serve staff in all roles across the organization. To submit a request for purchase, please email us. We do our best to purchase diverse material that meets the needs of staff, addresses gaps in collections areas, while also being mindful of our budget limitations. For more information, check out our Collection Development policy.

   Public Libraries

Public libraries throughout the province provide free access to many more print books, audiobooks, and online resources outside of our specialized NH library collection. Use the Find a Public Library tool to locate your local BC library.